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Statement of the Case


Petitioners, Paula A. Brown, Norman M. Brown, Kendall County Driver Education Service, Paula A. Brown, and Courtland D. Brown appeal the decision of Respondent, Texas Education Agency, Division of Driver Training to recommend action be taken against their Driver Training Certificates and Licenses.


On October 1, 1997 the hearing on the merits was held before Christopher Maska, the Administrative Law Judge appointed by the Commissioner of Education.  Pat Pringle has recently been designated the Commissioner’s representative to decide this case.  Both parties waived the requirement that the Commissioner issue a decision within ten days of hearing.  Petitioner is represented by Ms. Lisa Beck, Attorney at Law, San Antonio, Texas.  Respondent is represented by Mr. James C. Thompson, Attorney at Law, Austin, Texas.


On January 9, 1998, the Administrative Law Judge issued a Proposal for Decision.  Exceptions were timely filed and considered.  No reply was filed.

Findings of Fact


After due consideration of the evidence and matters officially noticed, in my capacity as designee of the Commissioner of Education, I make the following Findings of Fact:

1. Kendall County Driver Training Services is owned by Paula A. and Noman M. Brown.  This driver education school is licensed by the Texas Education Agency.

2. In July 1996, the Texas Education Agency, Division of Driver Training, received a complaint from a parent that the Kendall County Driver Education Service was not providing students with the required amounts of training.

3. Paula A. Brown is the school director of Kendall County Driver Training Services.  She holds a driver training instructor’s license.

4. Courtland D. Brown is an employee of Kendall County Driver Training Services and the son of Paula A. and Norman M. Brown.  He holds a driver training instructor’s license to serve as a driver education teaching assistant and, as such, he may not teach the classroom portion of driver education.

5. From July 22-25, 1996, Courtland D. Brown taught two classes of the classroom portion of driver education.  This was observed by Texas Education Agency investigators, who later that day informed Courtland Brown of the violations they discovered.  Paula A. Brown was supposed to teach the two classes.  However, she allowed Courtland D. Brown to teach classes.  Courtland D. and Paula A. Brown knew he was not licensed to provide classroom instruction.

6. On July 25, 1996, Courtland D. Brown dismissed two classes one hour before the classes were supposed to be dismissed.  None of these students in class that day received more than 31 hours of the required 32 hours of classroom instruction.  Knowing the students had missed an hour of instruction, Paula A Brown, nonetheless, signed certificates of completion
 for 10 of these students certifying that they had passed the classroom phase of a driver education program approved by the Texas Education Agency.

7. On July 25, 1996, three students were absent from class at Kendall County Driver Training.  However, the Individual Student Records forms indicate that these students were present and received grades. The Master Record of Attendance for Driver Education shows that these students were absent.

8. On July 26, 1996, one student was absent from class.  However, this student’s Individual Student Record form indicates that this student was present and received a grade.  The Master Record of Attendance for Driver Education shows that this student was absent.

9. The students identified in Findings of Fact Nos. 7 and 8 did not receive make-up classes.  These students did not complete the required 32 hours of classroom instruction.  Nonetheless, Paula A. Brown signed certificates of completion for two of these students certifying that they had passed the classroom phase of a driver education program approved by the Texas Education Agency.

10. Paula A. Brown got the students in the July 3-26, 1996 driver education classes to sign and not date their Individual Student Record forms affirming that they had completed the course before they had completed the course and before the information about when particular classes were taken was filled in.

11. An Individual Student Record form has a place for the student to sign and date to certify that the student has completed the entire program and that the record is correct.  The form also has a place for the school director to sign.

12. The Individual Student Record Forms for the students in the July 3-26, 1996 driver education classes indicate that all students attended two hours of class on July 25, 1996.  Paula A. Brown signed these forms knowing the students had only received one hour of instruction.

13. On February 26, 1997, during the time period of 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., Paula A. Brown took only two female students for behind-the-wheel training.  The car left the school at 6:37 p.m.  The blond-haired student received twenty-eight minutes of behind-the-wheel instruction and twenty minutes of in-car observation.  The brown-haired student received twenty minutes of behind-the-wheel training and twenty-eight minutes of in-car observation.  Texas Education Agency investigators viewed the events described.

14. Individual Student Record forms indicate that two male students and one female student received sixty minutes of behind-the-wheel instruction and sixty minutes of in-car observation each between 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m., on February 26, 1997, from Paula A. Brown.  When Paula Brown made these records she knew that they were incorrect.

15. The students referred to in Finding of Fact No. 14 did not receive the required seven hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and seven hours of in-car observation required to receive a driver’s license.  Nonetheless, the Individual Student Records for these students indicate that they received seven hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and seven hours of in-car observation.

16. Proper record keeping helps to ensure that students receive the necessary knowledge and skills to become safe drivers.

17. Paula A. Brown was not a credible witness.

18. Kendall County Driver Education Service did not get parents and students to sign contracts in many instances.

19. No students failed to complete behind-the-wheel and in-car observation within 180 days.

20. Kendall County Driver Education Service did provide the records requested by the Texas Education Agency.

21. Kendall County Driver Education Service did properly maintain its vehicles.

22. Paula A. Brown is an effective classroom teacher.

23. Paula A. Brown was selected to sit on a Texas Education Agency advisory committee to suggest new rules.

24. Prior to the events detailed herein, none of Petitioners had any serious compliance problems.

25. The complaint against the Kendall County Driver Education Service could not be resolved by telephone or written correspondence.

Discussion


Respondent requests that action be taken against the Kendall County Driver Education Services’ license, against Paula A. Brown’s Driving Instructor’s license, and against Courtland A. Brown’s Teaching Assistant’s Certificate.  Kendall County Driver Education Services is owned by Paula A. and Norman M. Brown.  It is a small family business.  Paula A. Brown is the school director.  Courtland D. Brown is the son of Paula A. and Norman M. Brown and an employee of Kendall County Driver Education Services.

Respondent contends that action should be taken against the license of Kendall County Driver Education Services for several reasons.  Respondent complains that it allowed an unqualified instructor to teach a driver education class.  Respondent alleges that two driver education classes received less than the required classroom instruction.  Respondent asserts that students received less than the required behind-the-wheel instruction.  Respondent contends that Petitioners falsified records.  Respondent argues that three students did not make up classes missed, but received certificates of completion.  Respondent alleges students were allowed more than the maximum 180 days to make up missed classes.  Respondent complains that records were not made available.  Respondent asserts that some contracts with students were not signed.  Respondent argues that vehicles were not properly maintained.

Respondent’s contentions for taking action against Paula A. Brown’s driver education instructor’s license are somewhat similar.  Respondent contends that Paula A. Brown did not provide sufficient behind-the-wheel instruction for students on February 26, 1997.  Respondent contends that records were falsified in several instances.  Respondent asserts that three students were not provided make-up classes.  Respondent alleges that certificates of completion were issued to students who had not completed the approved course.

Respondent’s reasons for proposing action against Courtland D. Brown’s teaching assistant certificate are that he taught the classroom portion of drivers education when he was not licensed to do so, and that on July 25, 1996, he dismissed two classes one hour early.

Shorting Instruction Time


In the summer of 1996, Respondent received a complaint from a parent that Kendall County Driver Education Services had not been giving students the required amount of instruction.

In-Class Instruction

On July 25, 1996, investigators were sent by Respondent to monitor the school.  They discovered that one hour of instruction was given in two classes that were supposed to be two hour classes.  Further, they determined that the instructor, Courtland D. Brown, was not certified to provide classroom instruction for driver education.  Talking with the students, they were informed that this same instructor had taught the classroom portion on other days.  Courtland D. Brown had taught these two classes on four days.  The investigators orally and in writing informed Kendall County Driver Education Services of the problems discovered.  Petitioners contend that it was appropriate for Courtland D. Brown to function as a substitute and that even though the students did not receive an hour of instruction that day, the students did receive the full 32 hours required.

Petitioners point out that as a certified teacher in the public schools of Texas, Paula A. Brown has often used substitute teachers.  Petitioner contends that since there is no rule or statute that refers to substitutes concerning driver education, the issue is unresolved.  While the word “substitute” is not used in either statute or rule, the rules are clear that substitutes are not allowed:

Students shall receive classroom instruction directly from an instructor who is certified and licensed by the Texas Education Agency (TEA).  The instructor shall be in the classroom and available to students during the entire 32 hours of instruction, including self-study assignments.  Instructors shall not have other teaching assignments or administrative duties during the 32 hours of classroom instruction.

19 TAC §176.1002(b)(1)(B)(ii).  The Browns point out that Paula A. Brown was the only person at the school licensed to teach the classroom portion and that she had to take training required by her school district.  While the Browns faced a real problem, there is a solution allowed by the rules to handle such situations.  Make-up classes are allowed.


Petitioners further argue that Courtland Brown’s serving as a substitute did not harm the students.  They note that Courtland Brown is licensed only as a teaching assistant.  However, teaching assistants are only allowed to provide in-car instruction.  19 TAC §176.8(c) (3)(B).  Courtland Brown should have known he was not supposed to teach classes.  A driver education instructor who provides classroom instruction is required to be a certified teacher.  Courtland Brown is not a certified teacher.  A driver education instructor who provides classroom instruction is required to take courses that Courtland Brown has not taken.  Paula A. Brown contends that she provided Courtland D. Brown with detailed instructions.  If this occurred, it did not lead to proper instruction.  On June 25, 1996, Courtland D. Brown showed a movie
 and dismissed two classes an hour early.


Petitioners claim that the students in the two classes received 32 hours of classroom instruction.  They admit that no make-up classes were held for the two classes.  By rule, a five-minute break is required each hour
.  Petitioners contend that the students received 32 hours because on six occasions, no breaks were given.  This would add up to one hour.  However, by rule, breaks “shall not be combined to shorten the course.”  In effect, Petitioners are attempting to shorten the two-hour class for June 25, 1996 by adding together missed breaks.  It should be noted that driver education schools are not only required to provide just 32 hours of instruction, but also are required to teach a particular curriculum in an approved sequence.  19 TAC §176.1002(b)(1)(B)(i).  On June 25, 1996, the students were scheduled to receive two hours of instruction in Emergency Procedures and First Aid at the Scene of the Accident and Two-Wheeled Vehicles in Traffic.  The students did not receive all of this training.  They may have received additional instruction in other areas due to missed breaks, but they did not receive enough training in these two areas.  The students did not complete the 32-hour program approved by the Texas Education Agency.

Behind-the-Wheel


On February 26, 1997, Respondent sent investigators to observe behind-the-wheel instruction.  A student needs to complete seven hours of behind-the-wheel and seven hours of in-car observation.  At 6:37 p.m., Paula A. Brown left the school with two female students.  The brown-haired student received twenty minutes of behind-the-wheel instruction and twenty-eight minutes of in-car observation.  Ms. Brown claimed that the brown-haired girl only had fifteen minutes to make up.  The blond-haired student was given twenty-eight minutes of behind-the-wheel instruction and twenty minutes of in-car observation.  However, the individual student records reflected that three students, two males and one female, received 60 minutes of behind-the-wheel and 60 minutes of in-car instruction from Paula Brown between 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.  Ms. Brown testified that the forms were inaccurately filled out in that they do not record how much driving was done on a particular day.  Ms. Brown claimed that she would often break up the driving time into short periods
.  She stated that she would not record each driving session but that on different days the students received all of the required training.  The individual student record forms always reflect training given in one-hour increments.  Why Ms. Brown would do this has not been adequately explained.  Students are required to complete various types of driving for particular time periods.  The forms which Kendall County Driver Education Services requested and received Texas Education Agency approval for have four separate line entries for the skill “2 hours city driving.”  The form itself indicates that each drive is to be recorded.  If more than four drives are needed to complete 2 hours of city driving, additional forms could be used.  No convincing explanation was offered as to why Mr. Brown would make an entry that a student received one hour of behind-the-wheel instruction and one hour of in-car observation from 6:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. on a particular day when this did not occur.

Ms. Brown’s testimony as to what happened on the evening of February 26, 1997 does not correspond to the individual student records in several respects.  First, Ms. Brown admits that the records do not accurately reflect the times drives were taken.  Second, the records could not accurately reflect the amount of training that was done at a particular time.  There is no way for one instructor to give students a total of three hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in two hours.  Third, the records indicate three students, two boys and one girl, not two girls received training.  Fourth, Ms. Brown testified that one of the girls that she taught at that time had a failing score on a previous drive.  However, the only individual student record for a female student at that drive time reflects no failing scores.  Even if Ms. Brown’s account of how she kept records is accepted, it does not explain the events of February 26, 1997.  This brings into question Ms. Brown’s claim that all students received the proper amount of training.  It is concluded that the students in question did not receive the required amount of behind-the-wheel training.

Records

Records concerning the June 25, 1996 classes were requested on that day.  The attendance record was not available.  The Individual Student Record Forms were available.  The students had already signed these forms certifying that they had completed the entire program.  However, the program was not completed at that time and the spaces for filling in when each hour of instruction was completed were not filled in.  Later on, the completed forms were sent to Respondent.  These forms reflect that all students received two hours of instruction on July 25, 1996, when in fact they only received one hour of instruction.

The Individual Student Records, in some cases, did not match the attendance sheets, which were also provided.  Three students were marked absent on the attendance sheet for July 25-26, 1996.  Yet the Individual Student Records indicate that they were present and, in fact, were given numerical grades for their work those days.  Petitioners contend that the attendance sheet is correct.  It was not until Petitioners’ rebuttal case that a document was produced that indicated that these three students did make up the missed classes in August, 1996.  However, there are two Texas Driver Education Certificates signed by Paula A. Brown, which indicate that two of these students completed their classroom phase on July 26, 1996.  There is not a Texas Driver Education Certificate for the other student.  It is concluded that no make-up classes occurred.

Record keeping is very important to driver training.  First, records are evidence that students actually complete the course.  The Texas Legislature has mandated that minors receive driver education before receiving a driver’s license.  By rule, the responsible agency has specified what the course of instruction is to be.  Driver training schools are required to teach the curriculum established by the Texas Education Agency.  The course is designed to help ensure students will become good drivers.  Leaving out instruction can mean that students do not have the knowledge and skills to be safe drivers.  Second, records are evidence that a school is operating according to statute and rule.  Some records such as the Master Record of Attendance for Driver Education and the Individual Student Record form contain duplicate information.  This is one check that records are accurate.  Another check is requiring students to sign the Individual Student Record form to certify that they had completed the course.  A third check is requiring that the Master Record for Attendance for Driver Education be updated in pen on a daily basis.  These checks are designed to help ensure that schools follow the curriculum.  The problem in this case is that not only were records improperly kept, but students did not receive the required amount of instruction from properly licensed teachers.

Signing Contracts

In several instances, Kendall County Driver Training Services did not get students and parents to sign contracts.  Requiring the signing of contracts helps to ensure that students and parents know what to expect.

180 Day Rule

Respondent contends that there were violations of the rule that requires that instruction be completed within 180 days.  19 TAC §176.12(a)(3).  While the forms do indicate that in many cases students signed but did not date the forms before completing the course of instruction, the forms do not indicate violations of the 180-day rule.

Providing Records

By rule a “driver education school shall furnish upon request any data pertaining to student enrollments and attendance.”  19 TAC §176.19(a).  While in some instances it took a while to obtain records, there was some confusion about the requests.  No violation is found. 

Maintenance

It is concluded that vehicles were properly maintained.

Complete Picture

In determining whether to impose a sanction against a driver training school, the Commissioner should consider the “complete picture presented by the entire educational, promotional, and ethical character of the school.”  19 TAC §176.1(b).  On the plus side, Paula A. Brown is a very effective classroom teacher.  She was selected to sit on a Texas Education Agency committee that proposed new rules.  Prior to the current difficulties, Texas Education Agency had found, at most, very minor problems with Petitioners.  On the negative side, she allowed her classes to be taught by one not qualified to teach it.  Texas Education Agency investigators found that the individual let the classes out an hour early.  Although caught red-handed, no make-up classes were scheduled for the classes.  Paula A. Brown did not provide make-up classes for students who were absent.  Paula A. Brown did not provide students with the required amount of in-car instruction.  Paula A. Brown created numerous fraudulent records.  Paula A. Brown was not a credible witness.  There are serious questions about the quality of instruction provided and the ethics of the school.  Viewing the overall situation, serious sanctions are warranted against the licenses of Kendall County Driver Education Services and Paula A. Brown.  While Courtland D. Brown’s actions were not appropriate, they were not as serious.

Penalty

The parties have extensively briefed the issue of what type of penalty is appropriate.  Petitioners contend that Texas Education Agency, Division of Proprietary Schools, Veterans Education and Driver Training v. Williams, Docket No. 137-PS-1294, (Comm’r Educ. 1995) is an analogous case.  In Williams, a driver safety instructor on one occasion gave a private lesson to one individual.  Instead of giving the required six hours of instruction, only two hours and twenty minutes of instruction was given.  Williams believed that he had covered the whole course and that he had given sufficient instruction.  The Commissioner concluded that Williams had not knowingly violated the law and assessed a sixty-day suspension.

The penalty sought against Kendall County Driver Education services is a $1,000 civil penalty, a $1,000 investigation fee, and a prohibition from employing Paula A. Brown as a school director for a period of one year.  Assuming without finding that this cause is similar to Williams, the penalty is reasonable.  The school only has to pay a penalty and to use a different school director for one year.  Its license is not suspended for a single day.

The penalty sought against Courtland D. Brown is a three-month suspension and a $250 civil penalty.  Courtland D. Brown taught the classroom portion of two driver training classes for four days.  He was not licensed to provide classroom instruction.  Further, Courtland D. Brown, on one of these days, showed a video and dismissed each class an hour early.  Courtland D. Brown knew that he was not allowed to provide classroom instruction and knew that he had dismissed the classes an hour early.  The penalty requested against Courtland D. Brown is reasonable and supported by the evidence.

The penalty sought against Paula A. Brown is a six month suspension of her license and a $500 civil penalty.  With Paula A. Brown, we are dealing with a pattern of knowing violations.  For example, on July 25, 1996, Texas Education Agency investigators discovered that two classes had been dismissed an hour early.  Paula A. Brown did not see to it that a make-up class was held.  Paula A. Brown was not a credible witness.  Her violations are intentional violations.  The requested penalty is reasonable and supported by the evidence.

Conclusions of Law


After due consideration of the record, matters officially noticed, and the foregoing Findings of Fact, in my capacity as designee of the Commissioner of Education, I make the following Conclusions of Law:

1. The Commissioner of Education has jurisdiction to hear this cause under Texas Revised Civil Statutes art. 4413(29c) §17.

2. The classroom portion of driver education must be directly taught by an individual appropriately licensed.  An individual certified to provide driver training classroom instruction may not designate a substitute who is not certified to teach the classroom portion of driver training. 19 TAC §176.1002(b)(1)(B)(ii).
3. A teaching assistant may not teach the classroom portion of driver training. 19 TAC §176.8( c) (3)(B)
4. The type of driver education program taught at Kendall County Driver Education Services includes 32 hours of classroom instruction in driver education, seven hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and seven hours of in-car observation.  A student is required to complete this program or another approved program to be eligible for a driver’s license.

5. Because Courtland D. Brown knowingly taught the classroom portion of two driver education classes for four days, and on two occasions dismissed class an hour early, his driver education instructor’s certificate shall be suspended for three months from the date the Commissioner’s order becomes final and he should pay a $250 civil penalty.

6. Because Kendall County Driver Education Service issued certificates of completion to students who had not finished the course of instruction, falsified records, allowed the classroom portion of driver education to be taught by someone not holding the proper license, and did not get signed contracts from many students, it shall pay a civil penalty of $1,000 and a $1,000 investigation fee and for a period of one year from the time the Commissioner’s order becomes final it, shall not employee Paula A. Brown as a school director.

7. Because Paula A. Brown did not provide students with the required amount of in-car instruction on February 26, 1997, failed to provide make-up classes, and because she falsified numerous records, her driver education instructor’s certificate is to be suspended for six months from the day the Commissioner’s order becomes final and she shall pay a $500 civil penalty. 

O R D E R


After due consideration of the record, matters officially noticed, and the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, in my capacity as designee of the Commissioner of Education, it is hereby


ORDERED that Courtland D. Brown’s driver education instructor’s certificate be, and is hereby, SUSPENDED for three months from the date the order of the Commissioner’s designee becomes final; and


FURTHER ORDERED that Courtland D. Brown pay a $250 civil penalty; and


FURTHER ORDERED that the Kendall County Driver Education Service pay a civil penalty of $1,000 and a $1,000 investigation fee and for a period of one year from the time the order of the Commissioner’s designee becomes final it shall not employ Paula A. Brown as a school director; and

FURTHER ORDERED that Paula A. Brown’s driver education instructor’s certificate be, and is hereby, SUSPENDED for six months from the date the order of the Commissioner’s designee becomes final and she shall pay a $500 civil penalty.


SIGNED AND ISSUED this ______ day of _____________________________, 1998.






____________________________________________






PAT PRINGLE






ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONER






SCHOOL SUPPORT & CONTINUING EDUCATION

� A certificate of completion is a requirement to get a driver’s license.


� It is appropriate to show movies in a driver education class.  However, instructors are expected to do more than run a projector.


� Breaks are important for several reasons.  Breaks are helpful with children who do not have long attention spans.  Breaks also allow students to use the restroom and not miss class time.


� There is nothing wrong with using short sessions that when added together cover the required time for behind-the-wheel and in-car observation.
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